DMD decision...

My current relapse has made me eligible (finally) for DMDs, but I’m at a loss as to which to pick. I’ve been on MS Decisions, but bizarrely it hasn’t really helped! My nurse suggested that with two young children I may want to avoid flu symptoms so copaxone could work, but this had no evidence of slowing progression which is very important to me (obviously). Injection frequency doesn’t bother me (had IVF and took daily blood thinners during two pregnancies, so I’m a bit of a pro at self-injecting into muscle or under skin!). What are people’s experiences? The nurse hinted that rebif is what all other drugs are compared to - does that mean it’s set the standard? So difficult to decide! I have one month until my next appointment to get started. X

I chose rebif, it’s the least injection-looking as its all done with the rebismart gadget, and doesn’t need keeping in the fridge so much. I do get flu side effects, but they don’t persist to the morning. They seem to be worse if I am generally fatigued anyway, if I feel ok it’s not so bad.

Rebif got great results in the recent trial vs Campath so it’s arguably the most effective of the injectables. Saying that, I believe that Avonex actually reports better data for slowing progression, but then its relapse prevention data are the weakest.

The Campath trial was the thing that convinced me to go for Rebif (actually Rebif44, the higher dose), but I’ve been unlucky with the side effects. If I hadn’t already tried Copaxone, I might have given up on Rebif. It’s now 21 months since starting and, although I’m still taking a lot of paracetamol on Rebif days, the side effects are fine, but the first 18 months (especially the first year) were not fun :frowning: But I was very unlucky compared to most by all accounts and it doesn’t help that I can’t take ibuprofen which apparently works better than paracetamol at getting shot of the “flu”.