Forum

Confused about MRI

Hey everyone. I’m new to all this and feeling quite anxious. A bit of a background on me…I’ve been suffering with random aches and pains and unusual sensations for a few years now but only really took it seriously when one day I couldn’t put a plug in any socket?? Saw my GP who referred me to neurologist (year away!) Went back 2 weeks later as I developed a hand tremor and kept feeling like my knee was going to pop out (felt very tight behind leg?) Appointment was then move forward for 2 weeks time. Saw neurologist who thought it was either fibromyalgia or MS, he prescribed me amitriptyline for odd sensations and pain and arranged MRI for a months time, he said he would call with results. The appointment seemed to go very quickly and I had my MRI last 21/08/19…I am clastraphobic so I left feeling quite dazed and dizzy but I do remember during the scan, I could see them pointing at the screen and they also made a phone call. When finished the radiologist asked when I was next seeing the neurologist and I told him he said he would phone me. He said nothing? I received a letter for a follow up appointment in January 2020. I know its only been a few days but I’m just feeling very confused and can’t stop thinking about it. Sorry for the rambling, feel like I’m going crazy! Sam x

Hello Sam

I’m not surprised you are feeling anxious. Having tests, expecting results and failing to get those results is worrying.

But I would expect that you will get a copy of the letter your neurologist (eventually) sends to your GP in which s/he will explain what, if anything, was seen on your MRI. Since you’ve been given a follow up appointment in January, I doubt that anything too scary was found on the MRI. But what you could do is phone your neurologists secretary and ask him/her when you are likely to get the results from the scan.