Anxious and confused

I’m experiencing so much anxiety at the moment.

Last week I had an appointment with my MS Nurse, it was arranged I was to start dmd’s. (Please forgive me, i’m new to all the terminology and medications as I was only diagnosed in late Feb and know very little).

I was asked how I was, and then my Neurologist checked me over - (had my first relapse in late feb where I then had Steriod Infusion and have made a good recovery 90%.10% damage).

My Neurologist then said that she wasn’t confident in prescribing me the dmd’s yet and arranged for me to have an MRI scan in 6 months time to check the progression. Why is this? If the dmd’s reduce the severity of the relapses, unneccessary damage ‘could’ be prevented if I were to have a major relapse within this time and taking the dmd’s?

Hope this makes some kind of sense.

I’m confused and anxious.

you have raised a good point, I think DMD’s are only given after 2 serious relapses. I know there is a view we should hit MS hard and early to avoid increased disability, I was given Tysabri after my 3rd relapse and had lost of my mobility by then. Hopefully you should be assigned a MS nurse to help you through this and this forum is great for information and support. We are all in this together!.

Peter

Hi

We can all appreciate what it’s like to be newly diagnosed, to have lots of questions going round our heads & not know what’s normal, or what to expect or what information we need to know.

Just back up what Peter said, the DMDs will have qualifying criteria such as a certain number of relapses within a certain time period. So it may well be that the neuro thinks you don’t meet these yet. I sometimes think though that octors have such pressures on their time that they don’t take the time to sit with us & explain things fully. However, I reckon it could be a good idea to call your MS nurse & ask them what the reason is.