So its official!

Saw my nuro on thursday, he confirmed what i already knew, after my second mri i have ms, feeling very positive at the moment and very deterimined! Just a couple of things i am confused by? Apparently i have rrms but no medication he can give me at the moment, just an appointment for an mri in dec! He gave me details for his ms nurse, i rang her and she made me feel like i was wasting her time! Do i just get on with it until i have a relapse? So confused :frowning: Gill xxx

Hi Gill,

Sorry you have joined our club, but welcome all the same.

I’m no expert, but I think to qualify for DMDs you have to have had 2 significant relapses in 2 years. Significant seems to signify something that affects day to day life such as mobility, rather than sensory.

It does seem unfair that we basically have to wait to be severly incapcitated even if it might be temporarily, before we can qualify for something which might help.

Glad you’re coping ok at the moment, but be ready for it to hit you at the oddest of moments and know it is ok to have a bit of a melt down and feel sorry for yourself.

This is a great place to find answers, support or let off steam and some times we even have a bit of a giggle!

Hi, I am sorry to hear that your MS nurse made you feel bad. That`s not helpful at all…especially to a newbie who really needs support.

Perhaps you`ll get a better reaction when/if you actually have a relapse and need help.

But like Shuffler says, it`s a bit of a chuff when you have to wait to be worse before you get treatment…I thought the idea of DMDs was to avoid such relapses…crazy!

pollyxx

Hi Gill,

I’m sorry about the dx, and I’m a bit shocked about the reaction you had from nurse

I also have RRMS dx Oct 2012 and the only meds I’ve had were for fatigue and one course of steriods for recent relapse.