Anniversray

Hi,

At 4.30pm 11 years ago I was diagnosed with MS. I used to cry thinking of the awafulness of this disease but now I have turned it to celebrate that I am still upright (sometimes!) and working.

Is this morbid?

Amy x

Hi Amy, this is not morbid the fact that you are still working & on your feet is something to celebrate. I was diagnosed in 2008 & since then I have had to give up work. I can’t leave the house without having someone with me as my balance is so poor & my left leg drags behind me. The DVLA has revoked my licence. I live alone in a 2 up 2 down semi. Some days I cannot manage to get downstairs to the kitchen to get a drink & something to eat. When my family phone to see if I am OK & have eaten I will tell them I am fine because they are all working & have their own life to live.But having worked as a staff nurse I know how lucky I am compared to other people with MS & I try not to feel sorry for myself which is very difficult at the moment. Sorry to complain but it is one of those days when I cannot get downstairs and I am wondering what is the point of me being here.

So no Amy you are not being morbid Because you have a lot to celebrate as you are still on your feet & working.

SYLVIA

Bless, That is one thing I will never understand is how MS effects everyone so differently.

Be positive you are still here! and tomorrow may be a completely different day. that is the joy of MS!!!

Take care

Amy x

Hi Amy,

Your not being morbid, i will never forget the day i was diagnosed,mine was the 16th June 1992 at 3.00pm,4 days before my 34th bithday,

i came out from the neuro telling me, that i had MS and i collapsed in a big heap and couldnt control my tears, a nurse caught me, and took me in a sideroom, so that i could pull myself together,and my life changed forever on that day,

it took me 2 years to come to terms with it,i was so scared at the time, because my friends mum had died due to ms ,so i thought my ms was a death sentance,