A Help List for the new Boards ..... (Brog64)

Hi, I have put together a list of helpful tips for the new forum in alphabetical order with thanks to the many people who have been putting their discoveries on the site as they figure it out. I can’t thank all of you individually but you know who you are… It won’t cover everything though… I am still learning too :wink: Anon Scroll down to the bottom of your reply box and you will see options allowing you to disable the formatting codes, smilies and correct URLs. Below that is the Anon button. Helpful Hint – only hit the Anon button AFTER you have previewed your post. It automatically unchecks again after previewing and if you don’t hit it again you will send without being Anon!!! Author One of the big problems with this site is that you can no longer see who wrote the original post, only who posted last. There is an easy solution to this (Thanks to Verona and Stevie Lion) In the subject line add your user name in brackets at the end. Also see Viewing posts you want to see And Posts and replies in different order Avatar This is a really handy avatar link http://avatars.jurko.net/pic/13683 Choose the avatar you like. Remember that moving or animated ones are not allowed as it upsets some people’s vision…. Then copy the URL from the Direct Link to avatar box Return to MSS and go to User Control Panel Edit Avatar Paste in the URL of your chosen pic and leave blank the Avatar Dimensions boxes Hit Submit and voila! :smiley: You can also Google images of your preferred pics but make sure that the pic you choose is less than 100x100 pixels. The MSS site will attempt to resize the pic if you leave the dimensions box blank but it doesn’t seem to cope with large pics. Or you can follow jowelton’s excellent advice below http://www.mssociety.org.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=788&start=0#p1263 Background and Brightness Lots of people have commented that the very white background is hard on the eyes. Sadly there seems to be nothing t