Work prognosis!

Hi Guys x

I’ve been working for over 7 years on temporary 2 or 3 year contracts x

Up until my recent sick leave I have always had a 100% positive “you are one of the most capable people we have & your job will always be safe”

Suddenly since going back it’s more evasive “well of course we can’t promise anything, but we’ll do our best” and “Things are difficult at the moment due to institutional changes” “the decision is not really in our hands - blame personnel or the man at the top” etc etc

I’m starting to worry - worry a lot!!

If I lose my job we lose our house - full stop!

With my new recent ‘sick record’ I doubt anyone else will employ me - potential new employers won’t know/care that I have still worked my butt off despite being on sick leave!

I’m still ill - yet struggled back to work through fear and am killing myself to keep on top because of this ‘underlying threat of redundancy’

Hi Kizzy,

I know this is not much consolation, but don’t automatically blame your illness.

Things really HAVE got tougher - they may be telling the complete truth when they say there are underlying institutional changes, quite unrelated to your health or performance.

I have had what I considered a secure job, for the past 23 years.

I’m being made redundant at the end of the month - along with 639 colleagues who don’t have MS!

Of course, none of this means you shouldn’t worry. Obviously you will be worried - I am too. But the reduced job security isn’t an indication you’re any worse at your job. It’s just an indication the times are horrible, for everyone, and businesses really are struggling.

Tina

x

Hi Tina x I know - it’s a difficult time for everyone. But just weeks before I went off everything was extremely positive - money was put aside - projects in the pipeline etc.

Since my return 2 weeks ago - the subject has been avoided. Everyone else in my office have now had their contracts secured.