Why isn't this on the news?

As a reluctantly retired Nurse I get regular updates from the medical site Onmedica, and today I received one saying

‘NICE has recommended the use of alemtuzumab (Lemtrada) to treat relapsing-remitting multiple sclerosis in adults. In its technology appraisal it says alemtuzumab has been described by experts as a ‘revolutionary’ treatment for some people that could allow them to live their lives as they had before their MS diagnosis. The drug is given intravenously for five consecutive days and then no more until the second (and final) five-day course is repeated 12 months later’.

I know the MS Society has about this drug on their news page, but if this is indeed ‘revolutionary’ surely it should be spread from the rooftops. I would put up with 5 days IV therapy twice in a year and am sure many others would too. Although I suspect that the Postcode lottery will come in to effect and CCG’s would still be happy to cover the cost of current treatments and admissions.

Never drive, run, walk or crawl faster than your angel can fly!

Big Jen

Sorry Jen,

I don’t understand what NICE is actually saying. What does ‘…revolutionary treatment for some people…’ actually mean ? If you fit a very specific criteria, this drug may help ?

As for living your life as it was before MS diagnosis - does that mean this drug has the potential to undo any damage MS has ever caused ?

I seriously doubt that …but if that’s the case, why is it limited to just RRMS ?

Sorry, but I think Lemtrada’s effectiveness is being grossly exagerrated !!

Dom

exagerrated — EXAGGERATED …d’oh!!!

I’m not sure if I’ve misunderstood but it sounds like it could be a cure for some people with ms? Is that right? If so shouldn’t we all get the chance to have this new drug.

Sorry if I’ve misread

Hi Minnie, No, it’s not a cure - just another DMD - complete with the usual list of possible side effects - some serious. Tina