Help! Anyone had alemtuzumab?

Hi people,
I was diagnosed in April this year with RR MS. I had my first symptoms in January this year. Basically started with word finding problems and resulted in an ability to form a sentence. I knew what i wanted to say but mixed up my words and could barely verbalise others. No other symptoms. I relapsed in June this year. This time with leg jerking and blurred vision. Throughout this year I have also had major fatigue and problems with memory and concentration.
My consultant wants me to go on alemtuzumab. By passing all the usual drugs. This is apparently because Despite a recent diagnosis, my symptoms have been severe and aggressive. Has anyone been on this drug? Any advise would be appreciated and anyone who has been on the drug who could give me their thoughts on it- would really help.
Thank you!
Danielle

I have no personal experience of this drug but there is a blog I follow called ‘Stumbling in Flats’ . Google her. She was diagnosed a couple of years ago and she started her blog to help her cope with her aggressive ms after diagnosis and subsequent treatment with this drug. She is very pleased with the outcome regarding her ms. Excellent blog.

Also known as campath or lemtrada if Mr Google is correct.

Jan x

Thank you!

Yea that’s right Jan. Thanks x

hi danielle

go for it!

alemtuzumab sounds fantastic.

i asked my consultant if i could try it but it hadnt been approved by NICE at the time.

good luck

carole x

hi Danielle I start it nov 3rd let you kbow how it goes pen xx

This drug is very expensive. It’s over £50.000. Thats why it is not offered normally unless they need to hit the ms hard.

It is not available yet at my hospital. You may need to travel (cambridge?/London?)

This is the best drug we have for ms. It comes with some side effects.

In general - the stronger the drug - the more side effects.