What do you want more people to know about MS?

Hello, My mum was diagnosed with MS when I was very young and it has devastated my family. Therefore, I have some experience with how MS can change a person and the effects it can have on the entire family, but I was hoping to reach out to this community to hear your first-hand views of living with MS.

So in a nutshell, what do you wish more people knew about MS?

Thank you :blush:

Personally I dislike the ‘You look well’ comments. The looks can be deceiving and don’t just a book by the cover sayings come to mind. We may look well but be suffering in soo many ways you can’t see and well tbh most rarely what to know. Even if they ask.

Just because we’re not all in wheelchair, on crutches or needing other walking aids doesn’t mean we don’t have a disablity.

Male, viewpoint, sorry. Catheterising takes longer than peeing normally. Consider shoving a small tube inside a tube. The smaller tube reduces the normal flow amount and thats without considering the usual force the average person urinates with.

Stop giving us gifts you’ll think will help with out having a clue. Personal example xmas 2021. I don’t want nor need an electric blanket. It won’t help my MS, even with meds I still get burning sensation starting in my feet spreading up my legs. How far and the intensity depends on how tied I am on any given night which is why I fidget in bed as my legs chase to cold parts. keep in mind I’ve been diagnosed since 2014 and had symtptoms going back to 2011. Burning being one of the first symptoms. Think you’re dad would know that. :man_facepalming:

Saying, impying we’re being lazy is not acceptable. It’s nice to a have little more energy sometimes but that doesn’t mean we want to use it all just because we have it available. Conserving it for later can be…comforting, knowing should we need a little extra we have some energy available.