Transverse Myelitis diagnosis - help!!

Hi everyone,

I am a newbie to this excellent forum and so grateful to be able to talk with people who understand what the limbo period is like leading up to diagnosis!

I was fit and healthy until 4 weeks ago when my legs lost power and I was diagnosed with transverse myelitis after a week in hosptial.

My neurologist tells me I have an 80% chance of either having or getting MS due to spinal lesions and an abnormal brain MRI.

I have done a huge amount of MS research since and am so impressed with the incredible progress that is being made with DMDs! Surely they may have a cure for this in 10 years time!

I am quite resigned to the fact that I will be diagnosed with MS due to other symptoms that have raised their ugly head following my discharge from hospital e.g buzzing legs and buttocks!

If this is RRMS then I am quite positive about things - there seems to be an incredible amount of support out there for MS and some great people who are truly inspirational with their bravery.

But - I do have one concern that is really scaring me. Could I have ppms because I am a little older (just turned 35?) I can def cope with rrms but would be terrified of things moving more quickly with ppms as i have two very small children…

I have read that ppms involves less inflammation of the spinal cord - and my transvere myelitis diagnosis is exactly that - spinal cord inflammation!!! So I am so hopeful that I will fall into the RRMS diagnosis (if I get a diagnosis at all!)

I guess I am just worried that it could be an early sign of ppms because I am a little older… and also I have more spinal lesions than brain. (I have 2 definite ones in the spine with a few “possibilities” of others but only one inthe brain)

I have never suffered with any other MS like symptoms previous to my transverse myelitis adventure 4 weeks ago!