should I start dmd's?

Okay, so I went to my “Newly Diagnosed Day” . Met my nurse, and met bew people in the same boat. However, none are on dmds, none have been invited to go on a dmd day prior to starting injections. I go this Tuesday and am nin the wiser! Do I or don’t i? Am on the milder side. Diagnosed august last year, confirmed again this january. I work full time as a teaching assisrant, have 2 children 10 and 13 and a supportive hubby. My neuro said rebif as I am needle phobic. Have checked out ms decisions. Still don’t know! My nurse said its mt call. She suggested aconnex as its only once a week but omg its like 2 foot long!!! Help!!! What if I dont relapse? I know that you still do on the dmds so will I benefit in the long run? I am so stressed over this

hi dawny

its really your decision but look at it this way, you need to fight this b*stard disease with all the weapons you can get.

i’m on copaxone and its dead easy. i know its every day but it easily becomes part of your routine.

if you consider copaxone there are a lot of horror stories about injection sites but they can be avoided by keeping your skin in good condition and massaging the site the day after.

good luck

carole x

Hello,

I use avonex, the needle on the msdecisions website is for the normal injection and the auto injector is a crossbow like thing. I use the avonex pen and the needle is 2cm long not so bad. You get the “sharp scratch” as the needle goes in, that last’s a second and then its gone.

Msdecisions is a bit out dated, you need to research on the auto injectors for the dmd’s,

http://www.avonex.com/one-click-avonex-pen.xml

It is a very hard choice but i chose to start avonex because i didnt want to blame myself for not trying further down the line.

Best of luck it is a hard decision,

Darren