Should I resign?

Hi Everyone,

I’m wondering what to do…I’ve been signed off work since Oct 31st 2013 due to relapse. It was my second one in 4 months. I have been finding work increasing difficult for about 18 months.

I am only employed part time so not entitled to SSP, but am recieving ESA, My question is what happens if I resign? Would this affect the benefits? I’ve had to go into work twice since Christmas for health meetings, which to be honest is pretty stressful. Now they want a report from my GP. Personally I don’t think I’m able to do the job any more. I’d been on “light duties” for a long time and had to turn down any extra hours offered to me. I’m not saying I don’t want to never work again I’m only 33,but when I’m ready I’d prefer to have a new start doing something different and more managable. I’m starting Tysabri soon which also terrifies me don’t like needles,drips etc I’m bit of a wimp that way!

Since my Dx (2012) I feel I’ve had to explain myself to everyone constantly… ESA, PIP(didn’t get that by the way-only scored 5 points) local council, work etc. Nevermind GP, MS Nurse, Neuro and family members! My MS seems to be everyones favourite topic of conversation but mine.

I just don’t really understand the whole benefits thing so could I resign on health grounds or do I have to wait for them to finish me?

Thanks in advance for any advice

BeckyX

hi becky

if you have an occupational pension then occupational health dept of your employer could offer you medical retirement.

benefits and work website could help you through the benefits minefield.

good luck

carole x