Forum

School teacher: telling the kids?

Hello, I have been diagnosed for about a year now. I am a secondary school maths teacher. Still work full time. I had a meeting with my occupational therapist this week and she suggested telling the children. They might not understand it all fully but she felt that they would react positively to it and help make my life easier in school. As you all probably know, teaching teenagers maths is not always the easiest thing to do. I believe I am still capable of doing it but I do struggle when the children make it more difficult through their negative attitudes and behaviours. That is usually to do with it being maths and not being me though (I Hope!) I am apprehensive about telling them as I don’t want it to be an excuse. For example, when a student doesn’t pass their GCSE, I don’t want people thinking it’s because their teacher had MS. Likewise, i dont want people thinking that it would be reason for their child to be underperforming at any stage of their school life. I have already said that I will be more than happy to resign as soon as i felt my illness was having a negative impact on my students learning. Has anyone been in a similar situation? Any advice? Thanks, David

Rather than tell the whole class I would tell just a couple of students to see what their reaction is and that could give you some sort of indication as to whether you want to tell other students.

My guess is they wont have much interest.

I wonder if krak has kids. Best way to tell the whole class is to tell a few!!

Question is, why would you? Is MS making a difference to how you teach Maths? Is it affecting your teaching at the moment?