Forum

Relapse 3 days after diagnosis

Hi all I’m new to this,

I was diagnosed 4 weeks ago with RRMS (neurologist thinks I’ve had it for 5 yrs due to CIS 2014, dizziness, nystagmus 2018) 3 days after diagnosis I started with this sensory relapse which appeared overnight with no warning. Freezing cold from the waist down to my feet, altered sensation similar to being in a plunge pool. Prior to this I was exercising 6 times a week (high intensity workouts, weights, running … ) now 3 weeks later I’m struggling to walk upstairs due to stiffness and can’t get my head around it. Started steroids today which I’ve done through gritted teeth as I thought I could fight this disease. My life feels like it’s been turned upside down and I’m worried that it will never be the same again. Started Copaxone 3 weeks ago 5 days after the relapse started but I know this takes up to 6 months to get into my system.

Could this relapse have occurred due to the stress of diagnosis, the awful waiting game we all have to go through? Sorry I am just struggling to accept what is happening and that it feels out of my control.