Lumbar puncture...why fizzy drink?

Dear All,

Please advise. I have a lumbar puncture next week and have read that I should try to lie down afterwards?

I also remember reading that drinking fizzy drinks was a good idea, however, I cannot remember where I read it or why it was a good idea? Is it helpful to drink fizzy water since I don’t really do lemonade? (Maybe beer would be better!!)

Thank you and P.S. Is there anything else that I should know?

Ali

hi ali

it is a caffeine based drink that you should drink, hence coca cola.

i hate fizzy pop too but coffee would be tricky.

however i have recently discovered those iced coffee drinks in asda!

water is always good.

beer - nah.

why not gin and tonic! (kidding)

don’t forget the bendy straw

carole x

Hi Ali

yes as Carole has said, it’s the caffeine that will stave off the ‘headache from hell’ that some suffer following an LP.

Original Coco Cola (not diet or zero etc) is the most effective and easy to drink lying down using a bendy straw. A strong coffee works but is hard to drink with a straw and you’re more likely to end up wearing it.

And you really must insist in lying flat for a couple of hours after the procedure, I was an inpatient when I had mine and was wheeled to the LP room in a wheelchair. Had the LP and was told by the dr to stay flat. Then I was collected to go back to the ward, but the bed would not fit through the door, so I had to get up and walk into the corridor then lie flat on the bed. Total fiasco!

As for anything else you should know… hmmm, well try to stay relaxed I guess. You can’t prepare for it as such; most people find it’s not as bad as they expected. For the others - at least it’s not something you have to suffer too often. Hope you belong to the first group.

Good luck,

AngC