Forum

Looking "normal" curse or benefit?

There are times for some of us, presumably while we are not using a walking aid or a wheelchair, or even walking where we are standing still talking to a stranger, in a queue, in a crowd, at a restaurant etc where we appear normal. (usualy between walking or between relapses).

A walking aid, a wheelchair, or something visibly different may warn others we can’t quite move as expected but without those visible indicators we can appear “normal” to others. Then there are people who use movement aids, who would probably argue it’s a benefit!

Given I’m relatively new to the condition sometimes I’m left wondering if I’m lucky that not everyone notices I am ill (i.e. I could be worse) or unlucky when people look/talk to me like I’m a liar/lazy. (feel guilty)

There is also that look, you know the one, the…“what the hell is wrong with you?” look

Your thoughts?

P.S. I’m baking a cake so…

I think it is a benefit for the most part. The few people i have told who don’t know me or M.S. that well have taken to talking to me in a baby voice and calling me cute names when i aint feeling well. I feel like punching them! I like to be seen as a Kate, not as a person with an illness as most people are a little scared of ill people. Is she dying? Does that mean she has learning difficulties? Should i shout everything at her? i.e. “ARE YOU OKKKKAY THERE LOVEY?”

Arrrgh!

Although when my legs are having a wonky day and i am heading down the pavement at 9am and people think i am drunk or insane i do want to shout at them “I have M.S.!”. Infact i did do this the other day when i got in a taxi and he tried to make me leave believing i would throw up in his taxi as i was drunk. Sure shut him up.