Ill Health Retirement

I want to retire. I appear to be the only person who actually wants to do it and is not fighting to keep a job. I work part time as a secretary, and, although the “work” is not taxing in the slightest, it has got to the stage where it’s too much. I was widowed a couple of years ago and I’m finding it a real struggle doing everything by myself, so something has to give. I realise that financially, things will be tight - I’ve been in this job for 5 years, and I have contributed to my pension all that time, but I am under no illusions, I know it will be tiny (I’m also a bit young to be doing this, I’m 37). An OH Dr has done a phone interview, and she is coming to see me at work on Tuesday for a box-ticking exercise - she has to establish if there are any reasonable adjustments that can be made. She suggested that I take some sick leave to see if I improve any (I’m in week 8 of a relapse), so I took a week - shocked and stunned (not) that I still feel the same. I’ve done everything she suggested, and I already know that Tuesday is not going to be a good MS day. How much longer can they spin this out for?

Luisa x

Do you get paid sick leave - would it be worth taking this entitlement first? This would also increase your pension pot a bit aswell. I know it prolongs things but financially it may be a good option

I doubt that you would get ill health retirement if you haven’t been off on long term sick leave first. Is your GP supportive?

The impression I get is that they are being helpful inasmuch as they will check to see if ‘reasonable adjustments’ can be made.

Do you know how much your pension will amolunt to?