Ill health reitrement

Grateful for any information people have or own experience. I work in the public sector, in a senior part time role. Let me say at the outset I know I need to reflect and take my time over important decisions -I am simply trying to get my head round all the options.

I have not taken time off for MS up to now but have got progressively slower at wallking and very disabled. My line manager has never commented on my obvious difficulties- although other people have. Despite being on DMD, I have got steadily worse and am three weeks into sick leave as I can barely walk and my arms/hands are so weak I cannot grip a pen properly etc.

I have had a discussion with Occupational health and have tentatively talked in principle about “asjustments”. I am no longer sure that adjustments can be made that make my very hectic job possible - just walking in the building is beyond me right now, Let alone getting to multiple meetings on and off site. I am not just talking about difficult or uncomfortable - I mean shuffling feet, overbalancing, stumbling, two sticks. I was barely mobile before this set-back - it is hard to imagine how I did it three weeks ago.

Am thinking about my options - I know it is early days but it is preying on my mind, thinking about the future. Is ill health retirement going to be an option for me - I cannot imagine how I am going to get over this? How does it work - can I apply or does the proposal have to come from the employer? Is there a risk I could be dismissed on ill health grounds? What is the process - how does it work?

My job has always been important to me - financially and in terms of my independence and who I am - just wabt to get ahead of the game and know what my options are. Any information or experiences welcome.