How to make big life decisions when everything is so different to what you’d imagined

Hello

I’ve been on this MS journey for about 2 years now, finally diagnosed last week with RRMS though I’d known it was coming for a while. This is my first time posting, or in fact reaching out for any kind of support (I really wish I had sooner!).

I have been told that I have very active MS. My consultant wants me to start DMT right away, following a relapse a couple of weeks ago.

I’m very lucky as I am still mobile. However I’m really struggling with having MS, and with making certain life decisions. I was recently promoted at work but this most recent relapse impacted my ability to do my job. Fortunately I now appear to be on the mend but it was a bit of an unpleasant wake up call.

I’m 33, married three years ago. Now was the time when my husband and I had planned on starting a family. I lost my mother two years ago, and don’t have any other family who we could call upon for support. Before my diagnosis that wouldn’t have been a problem, but now I worry that I couldn’t care for a child properly. I’m surrounded by friends with children, or who are falling pregnant.

I know my story is probably similar to many people’s- I just wondered how you cope with trying to make life decisions in the face of such uncertainty? Right now I’m so afraid and upset, I worry that I won’t be able to continue working, that I’ll never be a mother and that I’ll just become a burden to my husband. MS feels incredibly isolating.

Any guidance would really be appreciated. I’m so exhausted with being frightened all the time.

hi jecca

first up, find out which Disease Modifying Drug (DMT) you will be using.

then ask your ms nurse if it is safe for you to get pregnant on it, i know that there is at least one that is.

as far as work is concerned you are covered under the equality act 2010.

the employer has a duty to make “reasonable adjustments”.