how to cope with giving up work

Hi, I’m looking to see how people have coped with the prospect of having to retire from work through ill health. I have been nursing now for 21 years since leaving school. My diagnosis of terms was in 2006 following the sudden death of my mother. Since then I had to initially deal with post traumatic stress, then my MS. I have never allowed it to rule my life or who Iam but over the last year my condition has deteriorated considerably. My immediate work mates have been great but unfortunately management are completely different. I have reduced my hours and lightened my duties but,as all nurses will tell you, sometimes you just have to get on with it. My management tend to do things without discussing with me and when questioned its always put that I misunderstood them. The most recent example being the policy of referral to occupational health. Normally this is to discuss return to work but when I attended the Dr was the first I knew the my boss had stated that they could not continue to support the changes needed any longer. They questioned redeployment even though it has been discussed that there is no lighter area to work in. So instead of preparing myself to try and return to work Iam now trying to get my head round the very good possibility of having to retire from the only thing I’ve known. This now has my thoughts and emotions all over the place.

Any advice on coping would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Hi Lindz,

Your Mum passing away suddenly must have been a big shock. I don’t know what it is but they are the only people that give completely unconditional love; for most; not all.

As far as your work goes; nursing is one of those professions where your body has to be tip top to cope with the rigours work gives you; apart from working awful shifts.

You’re still young enough to get into something else. Don’t think it is the end of my working life.