Help the pain after weekend away.....

I’ve been seeing my other half about 5 months. He told me very early on about his MS diagnosis. We’ve just been away to Rome on a spur of the moment romantic weekend away. It was very warm and we walked miles and miles. He did incredibly well, walking up hundreds of steps and walking 10+ miles some days.

Now we’re home he’s really suffering with loads of leg pain. Obviously this is all fairly new to me and I’m just learning about the condition. He was in so much pain last night he barely slept. What do you guys recommend that might help? I’m trying to get him to just rest and sip his green tea and take occasional pain killers… But what else is out there?

Appreciate all your help and advice!

Hi

Your partner should maybe speak to his MS nurse about neuropathic pain drugs, if that’s what he’s experiencing. If it’s muscle pain from the unaccustomed exercise, it might be different needs to drugs though. Maybe massage would be more useful.

Or many people use magnesium; especially magnesium oil sprayed onto the skin and massaged in might help?

You could see if there’s a hydrotherapy pool near to you, Gentle exercise in warm water can really help.

Something to help him sleep would perhaps be useful, either he could try to get a prescription from his GP, or try Nytol (after checking with a pharmacist that it goes with any of his current drugs).

You could look up information on this site (see the About MS tab), or the MS Trust (type in what you want info on and MS Trust in your browser - there are many, many webpages available). I’d avoid random googling as the information may not be reliable.

The other thing you could look at is to see what’s available in your area, look at the Get Involved tab at the top of this page, scroll to the bottom and see the search box for Find Support Near You. There may be an MS centre, or help available from nearby sources.