Giving up work or not

Hi, I have been diagnosed PPMS since 2015. Now 36. When it all started I was a full time regional manager for an estate agent. I am currently on 20hrs per week office worker. But due to the fatigue and memory issues I am feeling more and more inclined to give it up. I was lucky that when diagnosed I hade critical illness cover to pay off my mortgage. So financially I think I can afford not to work. I dont know what is stopping me. I think the stigma surrounding living off the state getting benefits and “scrounging” Dont get me wrong I have worked full time my entire adults life and paid into the system. I have been dealt a crap hand. Should I just let go or struggle on as there are people worse off than me that continue to work, but on the flip side people that just milk the system for all its worth.

Hello

The problem you are going to face is that if you voluntarily give up work, you could find you’re not entitled to any benefits. You’ll have made yourself ‘intentionally unemployed’. I think it means you probably wouldn’t qualify for Jobseekers Allowance (ex Unemployment Benefit).

On the other hand, if you have to give up work because you are too ill to work, you’d really need to have been off work sick before quitting (assuming you want to claim Employment and Support Allowance, which used to be called Incapacity Benefit and way back Invalidity Benefit). Even then, the rules are quite complex.

When you make comments here about ‘scrounging’ and people who, ‘just milk the system for all its worth’, it gives the impression you think the less of people who do claim benefits and that there are many, many people who are able to claim despite not being truly entitled. Once you start looking at the complex and convoluted rules for claiming benefits nowadays, you’ll realise it’s not as simple as that.