DMT options

Hello!

I have recently been diagnosed with MS and have been given the choice of two DMT options- copaxone or tysabri. I was wondering if anyone has experience with either of these treatments? Any advice or experiences to share?

Thanks so much!

Elicia

Hi Elicia,

I have no experience of Copaxone, but I am sure others here will be able to help. I did have Tysabri infusions as part of a clinical trial. This drug is an immunosuppressant and has great results of reducing relapses in some people. You should have an in depth discussion with your neurologist who will be able to give you high quality information on results and risks involved. Such powerful drugs have variable benefits / impacts on different people so you need to speak with a qualified medical professional who knows as much about you and your condition. There are no absolutes or definites which makes getting info difficult. I would advise avoiding “Dr Google” as you will be able to find strong evidence for both positive and negative results. When you have high quality info from a trusted medical professional, you can then evaluate your position on risks and benefits.

I could tell you more about my own experience with this drug, but that would be of no real benefit to you. I saw others on the same trial as myself and we all had very different reactions.

Sorry if this does not help.

All the best Mick