Diagnosed - what now??

Hi, I have been recently and suddenly diagnosed with MS. I have been suffering with balance problems, vertigo, numbness and difficulty walking. My symptoms have subsided over the last 3 weeks but I am still struggling with walking and my legs feel like jelly.

I am feeling fed up as I am normally a very active person and I’m struggling to work out what happens next? Do I recover, go back to work ( I’m a teacher) and wait for the next time? When can I expect to get further medical support, I can’t see my doctor for four weeks, I am waiting for another neurologist appointment but the hospital have yet to inform my GP of my diagnosis. The MS nurses are yet to get in touch ( I know they are rushed off their feet) and I have emailed my local MS branch but no reply.

I am in limbo.

I have fantastic support from family and friends but they are as in the dark as I am.

Help.

Hi and Welcome Kirsty,

you will recover and get back to work. At your next appointment your doctor will probably discuss DMD treatments. If I were you try and read up about them as much as possible before your appointment. There is a section on this web site that will explain the options. From what I gather the best ones (ie the ones best at reducing relapses) have more side effects so you have to balance everything out. Relapses are assaults on the central nervous system by the immune system and you want to avoid these as much as possible.

Take |Care

Moyna x

1 Like

Hi Kirsty, sounds like you’re having a relapse now, it won’t last forever & should gradually fade away, as you’ve already noticed is happening. In the meantime have a good read about DMD’s. These drugs are designed to lessen the amount of relapses you might have in the future & also to cut down on how severe they might be.