Copaxone

Hi. I’ve been using copaxone for 3 months now I’m on the 3 times a week dose. I’ve noticed that my lymph nodes in my groin have flared up but I’ve never had problems with them before. Could this be the medication or the fact I’m vitamin d deficient, despite taking supplements for it? Many thanks.

Hi Ive been on Copaxone for 10 years & on the 3 x a week, yes I too experienced this when I 1st started it. It does flare up now & again. The problem with this drug is the effect on your fat layers under your skin, it can (& has!) give you dents where you inject. Have they offered you something else? I am now SPMS, but at mo Im still on it, not sure why, but I am going to address it when I nxt see nurse. If I was just starting out, Id go for a different DMD. Tracey

Hi Tracey. Thank you for your reply, I started the Copaxone due to the least side affects. I rotate between my legs and my hops as I can’t do it on my stomach. Mine is very early onset, so I’m hoping by starting the drugs early it keeps it at bay. Other than tiredness and abit of numbness it’s been quite mild, well I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Xx

It has certainly kept me going for 10 years, not knocking it, just it has made a mess of my legs, I cant do my stomach either, or my arms. Please don’t think Im implying you will become SPMS, I’m still reasonably not bad. Fatigue & very unsteady walking & leg pains are my problem. I believe there are some you can have tablets instead. All have them have side affects, some more severe than others.To be honest I wasn’t really advised on anything else. I’m hoping you have had some information on some other DMDs, but at the end of the day its your preference. Must admit though, I was terrified of flipping needles, now I don’t even wince!! Sorry if I have worried you, SPMS doesn’t always follow RRMS. I was just trying to say, lots of needles could be replaced by tablets, I would have started the tabs if I’d been offered them. Tracey