Constant colds on tecfidera

Hi all,

I’d really love some advice on what to do. I’ve been on tec since October and I am now on my third cold which is driving me a bit potty. I’m a teacher, so have always existed in a germ ridden environment but I only got one cold in winter which would shift pretty quickly! I was on betaferon pretty much continuously for 16 years, since my initial diagnosis. I had a break from treatment to try for a baby for nearly two years, with no increase in my usual ms symptoms but now, back on a new treatment, I am really struggling. I’ve been back to the hospital nearly 3 weeks ago for a blood test to check my blood count but still haven’t had the results. I assumed no news was good news as my second cold was dissipating. However, a third cold has just reared its ugly head and I’m not so sure! And to add insult to injury I have an intermittent rash on my stomach which is a bit uncomfortable at times.

I’ve not found the move to tec plain sailing but expected to have side effects. This forum has been invaluable and I have found advice about how to take tec has helped me to manage the side effects. I found that eating my full meal before taking tec has helped to reduce symptoms. But I am still getting a number of symptoms and seem to be one of a very few who suffers from constipation, despite eating my 5 a day and drinking tonnes of water.

Advice and experiences would be very helpful. It’s hard to keep taking these meds when I felt better off them!!

thank you in advance!

I really think you should speak to your ms nurse. Get them to chase up your blood results to see if anything is going on.

The colds may just be a co-incidence and you might be a bit run down but because you have the rash as well i feel you might need to get some advice to be on the safe side.

Leave a message for your nurse if you can’t speak to her and ask for advice.

Don’t leave it unchecked in case you are allergic to the Tecfidera.