Confused about steroids

Hi all. I have a question about steroids and couldn’t find the answer through searching. My understanding is that steroids can help you recover from a relapse but have no impact on long term progression of MS. So my question is, if steroids taken during a relapse can reduce the inflammation and stop things getting worse / help you recover, why doesn’t that reduce the likelihood of permanent damage from that relapse?

I’ve never used them, but I thought it was to stop the current symptoms from worsening while not doing anything for the damage that caused those symptoms.

Are you feeling any better today?

Sorry, I can’t answer your question, but a search on the Barts Blog might be worth trying.
Clinic speak: how good are steroids for treating relapses? – The MS-Blog (multiple-sclerosis-research.org)

1 Like

Thanks NorasMom. Good advice.

Will do

I am no expert but I understood that steroids support the body’s natural defences and healing systems.
Mick

1 Like

On two occasions, steroids have ended a rolling programme of relapses that had been running for months snd doing damage. Both times, I wished I had started them sooner. Of course, those runs of relapses might have been about to burn themselves out anyway. Or maybe not: I’ll never know. What I can say is that, if there is just a heck of a lot of inflammatory activity going on, steroids really can snuff it right out. They’re heavy-duty drugs, and taking them is no joke. I would much rather not, but sometimes nothing else will do.
Alison

2 Likes

Hello

I suspect there are a couple of separate issues here. The first is about disability progression and the second disease progression.