Can steroids make you feel worse??

Hi - I’ve just had IV steroids - first time since diagnosis - and I feel really rotten. My relapse symptoms have got worse and I’m wiped out like never before. Wondering if it is bad relapse doing its thing or if I’m reacting to treatment - a bit scary :confused: thought I might wake up feeling a bit better but just got worse. would be great to hear any experiences Thanks

Hi

I’m new to this whole thing I was diagnosed back in November and I’ve had oral steroids twice I found that I couldn’t sleep, felt sick and just felt awful for a few days but I could see properly (the problem they were treating) and after a few days I was symptom free and back to feeling like a human being! I hope that you find that after a few days you feel better!

Sorry can’t really comment on whether they might make you feel worse, can only go on my experience. Personally I don’t like being on them have had them 3 times and they always make me bunged up, and with poor vision. If you are concerned then it might be wise to get in contact with your MS nurse or the society’s helpline.

Hello BeccaT If you feel you can wait until Monday, then ring your MS nurse/gp then. Or you could ring the 111 NHS non emergency number for advice. I always find them efficient in relation to my husband and his health needs. Good luck, hope things improve soon x

Hi BeccaT

I have had the oral steroid treatment a few times and I find they do wipe me out for a little while, maybe from day two/three of taking them until a couple of days after finishing the five day course. They also make my mind race in a way that is hard to explain.

It’s disappointing when other people say they feel fantastic when they take them. However, I do feel quite a bit better after the course is finished. I hope reading this reassures you. We’re not all the same but you are not alone. Sue x

(Should have said, experienced the same effect from the IV steroids!)