Being brave for everyone else is so tiring!!

Ok, I am really new to this. I have been dx with MS, only a few days ago but although it’s a shock and frightening I have found that I am constantly reassuring friends and family that I’m ok and not to worry. But I worry. I’m not ok. Anyone else feel responsible for the emotional support of others???

1 Like

Hi and welcome,

Sorry to hear of your recent diagnosis, it is a lot to get your head around. I know how you feel about supporting other people through your diagnosis.

I think a lot of us feel guilty for upsetting the people closest to us, which is completly irrational as it’s not like we asked to have MS!

I think the desire to protect people says a lot about your character :slight_smile:

Have you been referred to a nurse? If so it could be beneficial to ask them, or your gp, to see a counsellor. Having a chance to express your fears to somebody you don’t feel you have to protect might be some help you?

In the meantime there are plenty of people on this forum who will be able to relate to what your feeling and are here for you when you need a chat or a vent.

Laura x

Hi I’m awaiting official DX but been told almost defiantly ms I know what you mean , sometimes I just bury my concerns and pains as I feel I’m boring my wife , and before this we and my 2 daughters had a great life . I have been off work for nearly 4 months and again feel guilty about this , I don’t want my family effected by this disease . So I come on here and the people are great and understand you, so I’m just giving it time and slowly trying to get used to it. Take care Gray

Hi Asherel Yes I feel like this too. I don’t like the fuss and attention - it makes me feel like a little girl and I need to feel in control. Problem is then when I do feel I need to talk about it I can’t as I’ve alienated everyone. So I come on here! Don’t have an answer for you but here to talk if you want/need to x