Forum

Am I going mad

Hi everyone, i am new to this but I would really appreciate your opinion. I am a 39 year old female.

About a year ago I had a period of time during which I had neck ache, with poor balance,which I would describe as my neck feeling very heavy. I had a neck MRI to check for arthritis which was clear. the heaviness did subside after a couple of months but a residual heaviness continues. I also have a feeling of pressure at the base of my head when lying completely flat along with jaw pressure on both sides.

There have also been other symptoms which my or not be related, ie I drop things easily, I now need to sit down or lean against something to put my shoes on as my balance is not great. I intermittently have cloudy vision. I have an overactive bladder, confirmed with urodynamic testing. 

I almost fall over when I stand up straight with my eyes closed and cannot walk with my eyes closed at all without falling over/into things.

Anyway about three months ago, things got worse with strange sensations in my right leg and forearm. When I lie or sit with my legs straight I am unable to lift my right leg of the floor/bed. Often when I walk, it feels like my leg is attached to a lump of concrete and I have to work really hard to lift it. My right hand is only comfortable when I allow it to curl up and it takes so much effort to straighten it.

I saw my GP who was great. ( I have seen my Gp only twice in last 5 years) He said I had brisk reflexes on the right side and he referred me to a neurologist.