Absent minded?

I think I am seriously overworking but I have been making a few silly mistakes the last few days. I am a violin teacher, and was teaching a girl grade 1 yesterday. I registered this and was prepared for grade 1 but gave her aural tests appropriate for grade 3.

Another incident happened with another girl, much higher grade. I was asking her to play scales from another syllabus.

Then last week I was giving a demonstration, well rehearsed with my pianist, yet at the moment had a total lapse of memory and started playing the wrong piece. My pianist ‘busked’ it for me, but I owe her a drink now!

It is common for me to make mistakes all the time in life, but absolutely not in my professional work.

I don’t think I’m cracking up, just overworking - or maybe ms has put a spanner in the works somewhere?

Hi Josef, sorry to say, it’s a common symptom with MS. Google ‘MS and cognitive issues’ and you’ll get a whole bunch of links.

Not everyone with MS gets it, but many of us do to greater a lesser degree. Somehow knowing that it’s your MS causing the problem does make it a bit easier to accept (after all it can affect so much in our bodies… so only natural it would affect memory and cognitive ability).

The trick is to learn to live with the challenge! I have a blackboard on wall and jot things down as soon as I think of them… as literally seconds later I might have forgotten. Post-it notes are handy also, as is setting the reminder alarm on your mobile.

Stress and fatigue will make it worse, so watch your energy levels and think about how you can lower the stress in your life.

In your situation I would say ‘prep’ is very important. Make time the day before maybe to write out exactly what grade the pupil is on, and exactly what you will be teaching in the lesson. Read your notes carefully before the lesson and make notes there and then of things you need to remember for next lesson.