You'll have heard this before...

but here goes nothing…

This is my first time here, because I’ve not actually been diagnosed. About 10yrs ago I had a very funny episode upon waking which was mostly complete muscle weakness (couldn’t even lift my head) and blindness in both eyes for just a few seconds. Nothing was ever diagnosed.Then about a year after that I had long lasting dizziness that went on for months, I was told it was an inner ear issue, but eventually had an MRI which showed two lesions in a particular pattern which I was told at the time were consistent with MS. The neuro at the time said they need more lesions or a lumbar puncture to diagnose, my symptoms went away and all was fine. A couple of years after I had widespread numbness and tingling of my legs and feet, had another MRI which neuro said was fine and basically go away and don’t bother him again. So I did. Sorry, I’m going on a bit…

Fast forward to about 9 months ago and my right foot went numb. Couldn’t feel a thing. Had the nerve conduction tests which said my peripheral nerves were fine. GP referred me to neuro as I was having other symptoms by now. Lots of night time twitching (big ones in my right leg and right shoulder) and small daytime ones (under right eye, right buttock-ha! Basically all over my body, but way more on the right). By now I’m also having massive trouble walking, can’t stay in a straight line and for about 4 months was having real problems picking my legs up, so was doing an elderly person shuffle. This was much much worse when the temperature was warm and I felt very weak all over. I was also seeing flashes of light from my right eye at this point, and sometimes little rainbows.