Work/ legalities

my question is, is it ok for your line manager to refer to your health during a yearly review ? This is not a q re feelings, it is about legal stuff. ? I ‘feel’ it’s wrong, but it’s whether it’s ‘discrimatry’ or not would be good to know. (I work for a big company)

I would say it depends in what way they referred to it. But I’m not a lawyer. I’m sorry but can’t remember from your previous posts whether you have informed your work place of your diagnosis, what I’m getting at here is have they made adjustments to help you in work so your performance isn’t effected. The Acas site might give info or are you in a Union, if so you could phone up their legal section. I’ve done this and found it helpful in respect to work issues.

If you have mentioned your health issues to your line manager then he/she maybe thinks these issues should be brought up in an yearly review.

I told work of my diagnosis. ( I was off sick for 4 weeks when weird stuff was happening to me) it was after taking steroids which stopped me sleeping that I had to accept I needed time off. That was 10 months ago !

the comment on my review was. ‘Xxxxxx has struggled with her health recently. Although I know she has tried really hard this has impacted her considerably.’

that was what was written, verbally when it was read to me ‘considerably’ was replaced with ’ capability’.

no discussion was had re my health or ms.

I feel my line manager is ‘trying’ to be supportive, possibly, but really does not know how to be and does not seem to understand that they have obligations.

I feel I need to ensure I understand my rights, to ensure I maintain my job, as I truly love it (lol, not every second)