Forum

Will MRI on brain only be sufficient if I have MS?

Hi all,

I apologise in advance if I am not posting in the correct place, but I have never used a forum before so I’m new to all of this!

The main purpose of my reaching out on here is to ascertain whether MS is likely to show up on an MRI of the brain only? Or would they need to do the spinal cord too in order to make a formal diagnosis? I understand that the immune system attacks the myelin sheath randomly so lesions could show up on the brain and spinal cord, but would the likelihood be that if it was MS something would show up on a brain scan?

A little background information…

I have hypothyroidism and have recently been told that this is due to Hashimoto’s. My TPO antibodies were apparently “through the roof”. I have suffered for many years with extreme fatigue which I have generally put down to my hypothyroidism or lifestyle factors such as pregnancy, lack of sleep, stress etc. I have done a lot of research on Hashimoto’s so understand that it can cause a whole range of symptoms. However, over the last twelve months in particular, it really feels as though there is something else going on. I have the most awful sensations down the one side of my body, particularly in my arm/hand and leg/foot. The GP suspected Carpal Tunnel or Coeliac Disease but tests have ruled both of these things out. I struggled tremendously with these sensations during the hot weather we had this year. When I look back, I have gradually become more and more uncomfortable in hot weather, to the point that this year I barely went outside during the summer months! In addition to the sensations, the heat just wipes me out and I can barely function.