walking up mount snowden

for those who may have not read my first entry, I am confirmed transverse myelitis at my T8 and confirmed first lesion on my brain and I have had a lumber puncture which came back positive but consultant won’t confirm Ms until I have my second lesion… I take Gabapentin 700mg 3x a day and Omoparzil 20mg I walk for a living with a superstore and have difficulties getting into car at end of shift as feel very stiff but no pain as such…have had what was termed as a ‘neurological spike’ which made my legs pins and needles and knees tightness gradually get worse over a 3 day period enough to make me go to gp’s who short term up’d my gabapentin to 1000mg … I and familly are thinking about walking up mount snowden train track route can anyone offer any advice…??.. please…

Hi,

I’m not sure what kind of advice you’re seeking. There are hardly any rules about what you should or shouldn’t do with MS/probable MS (one of the very few redeeming features of it).

So really, the only issue is whether you feel up to it. Have you experimented with less ambitious climbs/distances, to see how you get on with those? I certainly wouldn’t recommend doing it “from cold”, with no idea what your limits are. You should build up to it, so you can be reasonably confident it’s within your capabilities, as you don’t want to find out the hard way it isn’t - when you’re halfway up!

I’ve done Snowdon as a kid, but not since, so I can’t really remember how demanding it is (I assume not terribly, if a little girl could do it - and I wasn’t a very physical child).

It may not be relevant to you, but oddly, I find getting down from places often a lot harder than getting up - I think mostly from balance issues. Getting up there, the issue is energy/stamina, but downwards, the issue is fear of falling.