Waiting for possibly final piece to fit. Or not!

Hi to everyone,

New user here…I would love to get some advice/get heard on what’s been happening for me since January this year. I’m a 47year old healthcare professional, who has had weird bonkers symptoms for years which I self diagnosed as the start of peri-menopause. Looking back the most significant was almost a year of bladder symptoms, nocturia that could be up to ten times a night, i’m sure you know the type of thing. I’ve always had a lot of pain in my legs and feet but given the physical nature of my job I’ve again put it down to the work, and varicose veins! I also had episodic vertigo and 2 years ago was diagnosed with early onset hearing loss, for which I was given hearing aids. I understand that is likely unrelated to ms though. In 2015 I had a period of incredibly painful swallowing on one side - it was unlike anything i’d ever had through illness and actually reminded me of when I had tonsils removed aged 11. I had a laryngoscopy for this and nothing sinister was found but a biopsy showed elevated white cells.

A couple of years ago I had a mark on my back seen by a dermatologist. It was nothing sinister though I’d explained that I felt a stabbing, burning pain in that area. It was unlike anything i’d ever had before. Months later, when i reached up to scratch my back, there was a massive patch of numbness. I sat on it for a while (a long while actually), until I felt another numb part on the other side of my spine but same level. This took me to the g.p. and thankfully he immediately referred me to Neurology.

I was actually discharged immediately from the consultant as my physical neuro obs were unremarkable. He did however say I should have a brain and spine MRI to be thorough. He sent on a discharge letter to the g.p. and oddly enough the end of it said “she thinks she has MS” (which I found a bit odd really to pass comment on but there you go).