Secondary progressive

Hi, I’m new to this…my husband has secondary progressive MS. He was told it had moved on from RR last year. His main symptoms are poor vision, fatigue, poor balance and not able to walk far. He has been pretty stable for about 5 years but i think he had an attack about a month ago and his symptoms have got somewhat worse. His balance is horrendous and without his stick walks like he is vegy drunk,he has developed a tremor in his hands, his speech is slurred and his feet and ankles are swollen amongst other things. After previous attacks the additional symptoms have only lasted a brief time and things have gone back to how they were before the attack…over a month on and no change, he has been to GP and had check up and blood tests and all ok. Is this anyobe else in a similar situation? How long do we leave it before we accept these symptoms are permanent? Who do we turn to for further adaptations to our home? Feeing frightened!

Hello

When you’ve become used to a remission following relapse pattern, you expect the symptoms to improve after some time. The problem with progressive MS is that often the symptoms do not improve, or only partially.

Everyone’s MS is different so we can only talk about our own experience, but for me, a month with no remission would be perfectly normal. In fact 3 months without remission would be perfectly normal. I’m now ‘Progressive Relapsing’, so can have relapses with some remission, but can’t expect complete remission. In fact I often didn’t have complete remission when I was RR.