PPMS?

Hi Guys,

I am new to all of this and I am just looking for some advice.

I am 25 years old, this all started in late March/April this year. I was at rugby training one night and all sudden my forearms went crazily stiff, I felt dizzy and like I was going to vomit.

Over the next few days I developed tingling everywhere and spasming muscles in my neck, arms and legs.

I’ve had MRI’s 6 months apart, that reported two small lesions 1 brain, outside of McDonald criteria area (juxta cortical, periventricular etc) and 1 apparently at the top of my spine that is very small. The second MRI reported that there has been no change and my lesions are stable.

I’ve experienced varying symptoms everyday since, the tingling in arms seems to have subsided, my legs still get crawlies and hurt some days, some bladder urgency, although I don’t know if that’s just me cos I drink alot of fluid! My eyesight seems kinda off too even though I passed a sight test.

I’ve had VEP and SSEP, both were normal.

My neuro has classified me CIS and isn’t worried that things haven’t seemed to get much better, he isn’t able to diagnose me as I don’t fit the McDonald Criteria.

Therefore, I guess my question is. Does this sound like PPMS because I haven’t had any remission as such after 6 months??

Hi Anon! I’m afraid nobody can answer that other than your neuro. I know it’s hard but I’m afraid it’s going to be a case of wait and see.

Do you have another follow up appointment with him? If not I would expres your concern to your GP and ask for one to be made.

A CIS does not mean that you will definitely have another episode - many many people don’t! Recovery times vary tremendously. It could be that your recovery time is longer.

I know it’s easier said than done but try to be positive xxjenxxx