P/T jobs

Any advice on P/T jobs suitable for people with MS, I worked in finance/investment banking, IT research in the past, I’ve been unemployed for over 12months, it’s hard to get back to work, finding employment!. Ideally i’d like to work from home, but i can’t think straight at the moment, any ideas? much appreciated

There’s a growing area in working from home but I don’t know how you find work in that area. I was lucky because an ex-colleague approached me to ask if I would do some typing from home for his company.

I suppose you could advertise in your local press giving some idea of the type of work you could do at home and see if anyone contacts you? I think some companies are quite keen on this at it saves their overheads.

The company I work for p/t in the evening download audio files to my pc via the internet and I type them up and download them into their dropbox. I have a 30 hour work day job and don’t find the second job too taxing.

My day job is an administrator in a school. That is also an ideal job for someone with MS as many of them are now part-time (I see loads of jobs locally that are morning only), you get a holiday every 6 or 7 weeks, plus 6 weeks off every summer and the salary is averaged over 12 months so you still get paid in August when you haven’t worked at all :-). They are also very empathetic about the MS and have a good understanding of the Equality Act.

Tracey x

Thanks Tracey x

Hi

Have you spoken to your Disability Employment Advisor at your Jobcentre (DEA).

They will have experience of helping people with disabilities find employment, plus will know the financial side of things like… Can you work & claim? Can Access to work help? Can you qualify for grants?

They will have ideas on the type of jobs that suit your skills & be able to support you through the quest to find employment.

gook luck

Neil