No diagnosis yet, looking for advice

Hi everyone,

I’m 37, live in Scotland & have just been referred to neurology.
I have been going to my GP with various random symptoms in the last 10 years. Such as migraines, pins and needles and numbness in hands, weakness in leg walking up the stairs, clumsiness for eg always dropping things and burning myself when cooking & feeling like electric shocks in my neck. Unfortunately my GP did not take this further & put it down to my B12 deficiency which I have been receiving treatment for, for over 10 years. I then recovered - aside from the weakness in my legs which stayed.

Since Christmas I have been absolutely floored & I am experiencing fatigue, weakness in hands & arms, cramp in toes, tightness in calf muscles, some incontinence, brain fog, feeling dizzy when using stairs and just general feeling of being exhausted despite rest.

My family noticed some symptoms at Christmas and I saw a different GP who decided I needed to be seen by a neurologist.

Does any of this sound like MS? I feel a bit like I’m going mad, I don’t drink smoke, I exercise & eat well. Yet I definitely don’t feel healthy.

Any advice welcome, thank you :blush:

Hi there I am 36 from Scotland and I am experiencing similar symptoms I too have been referred to neurology next Wednesday I am around the bend not knowing what’s wrong I feel like I’m going mad constantly unwell I am hoping for a diagnosis very soon good luck take care :crossed_fingers:

1 Like

Hello Donna, and Hayley, welcome to the forum.

I’m afraid I can’t say if either of you have MS or not, but you’re both going to the right place to find out.

When I was referred, the first thing they did was a host of tests, then eliminated a whole bunch of conditions I’d never even heard of. They then looked at my past medical records and did some more tests, and eventually I was diagnosed with RRMS.