Forum

Just about me

Hi everyone, I am new to the forum, so not sure how it works yet. I am not new to MS though, as I have had it for more than 30 years. Being told you have MS is devastating, but when I was diagnosed, it was a case of being told, go home & learn to live with it, Not Helpful at all. Nowadays, you get so much more help & information, which is so good. I have to use either a wheelchair or motability scooter now, which did take a few years to get my head around, but I had to swallow my pride & use them, or stay at home & never go out again, which I wasn’t prepared to do. I’m not sure if other MSer’s found it difficult to start using them, or was it just me?

Hi Snowie and welcome. I’m a newbie and was diagnosed with ppms last November although I’ve probably had it about 9 years. I’ve just bought a walking stick even though I’ve needed one for a while so I know exactly what you mean. I didn’t go out on my own much last year due to three falls resulting in a sprained ankle each time but I’m getting my confidence back now and trying to get out more… Its difficult with foot drop and balance issues and having to watch the floor for trip hazards is a bit boring…

Im sure you will get a lot from this forum and also be a good help to others as you’ve had ms for so long. … your experience will be invaluable. Karen

Hi Snowie,

Sorry you’ve had to join this forum, but welcome and glad you have as lots of support and information.

Like you, I’ve had MS for 30 years. Was diagnosed 20 years ago and was told to take fish oil and avoid infections, which I still do, along with lots of medication and vitamin D.