How long did it take for your MRI radiology report take to come back? What was your diagnosis story?

Hi All

Had an MRI 5 weeks ago due to suspected MS by Neurologist. He said should only be a couple of weeks to get radiologist report back, physiotherapist checked for me today and said it’s still not back. (having physio for joint pain)

So, just wondering how long others waited for their radiology report?

I’m just curious, as just left twiddling my thumbs wondering what’s causing my symptoms but also struggling with managing my symptoms. (no one will offer much help until radiologist report is back!)

And, how long did it take for others to get diagnosed/go through the diagnosis process?

Thanks

Hi there. I’m pretty new to MS, and I don’t know if what I say will help, but I had an MRI scan on my head on 23rd Oct last year, and a week later I got a phone call to come in to the Neurologist the next day. I couldn’t make it, but went in on the 3rd Nov, when I was told it was def MS… and deep joy, I wouldn’t even need a lumbar puncture. So, I make that 11 days to get a result, but they knew within a week. I’m on NHS treatment and in Northampton.

Having said about the quick turnaround between scan and diagnoses, I had been to the GP and various hospital departments somewhere between 10 and 15 times in the previous two years - since I first noticed a real problem with walking and balance.

I’m a keen Internet detective when it comes to symptoms, and I’d begun to rule things in and out within months of my first stumble, I even asked my GP “Any chance it could be MS?”. “No, it’s not that” came the swift reply. I haven’t seen her since, and I doubt she’d remember anyway.

My main concern is that they only ‘think’ it’s PPMS (mainly because I asked if it was that) and it seems the only treatment I’m getting is to be monitored by an MS Nurse every six months, and the occasional visit to a physiotherapist.