Hello! I’m Adrian 39 and I live in London.

I’m Adrian 39 and I live in London. I was diagnosed with MS last week. I still don’t know what kind of MS I have, because I had only one shot, namely double vision. I had this shot 2 months ago. I was hospitalized, my tests were done, and when the results arrived, the doctor told me not to worry now, but in 15-20 years. I already have muscle spasms, I get a little tired faster than before, walking is a bit harder. I wonder if there are any medicines for such a thing, to be able to work, as I have worked so far. I’ve been working on the site for 6-7 years since I’ve been in London, but I feel and realize that I can’t go on. Sometimes I panic, and I wonder what I will do next. I will have an appointment in 3-4 months with the MS assistant, and in August with the neurologist. My question is: when I start taking MS medications, will I be able to work the same way? or, will I still be able to work?
Thank you very much!

1 Like

Hello Adrian

Welcome to one place you never dreamed (nightmare style) you’d have to be!

You sound extremely anxious and deeply worried about your future. This is normal. MS is not an easy thing to get your head around, you are doing pretty much what anyone does when presented with a diagnosis of a disease that, honestly, is not quite as bad as it used to be.

If, like about 85% of people diagnosed with MS, you have the relapsing remitting variety there are disease modifying drugs available to help stave off relapses (aka flare ups, or instances of disease activity). You’d know this if your symptoms have come and then over time (could be weeks or months), possibly with the aid of high dose steroids, completely or partially recovered, then you can safely say it’s RRMS.

Often the assumption is made that it is RR (on the balance of probabilities) until and unless after some time it becomes clear that your MS is progressive.