Hello from England!

Hi guys! I am 24 years old and been living with MS with 6 years now. It was a very tough journey being diagnosed at a such a young age - 19 years old. It took the doctors a whole year to give me a diagnosis.

Fortunately, I’ve had two Lemtrada treatments which have immensely stopped the progression of my MS. I still struggle everyday with symptoms but I have not had a relapse since my treatments in 2016/2017. This is my first time using the forum and I am not quite sure how to use it. But I would love to know how you guys are doing, what treatments you’ve had and how you manage your pain on a daily basis.

2 Likes

Hiya, this is a condition that should be like a pension, you must be over a certain age to get it, it should definitely NOT be the young, I hope you are still getting out and about and enjoying life, Brian

Hello Simran, welcome to the MS forum.

You’re amongst friends here. Some of us are much more seriously affected by the disease than others, but we are all fighting the same beast.

You ask about pain treatment: I take gabapentin three times daily for neuropathic pain - sudden sharp shooting pains that are very quick, and always a surprise, I get no warning. I jump, I shout, I curse and swear, which all help me feel a bit better, but it’s the gabapentin that does the trick. It reduces the frequency and intensity of these pains really rather well, I adjust the dose from time to time as needed.

I’m glad Lemtrada has helped you, I’ve not had that one. I was, for a while, on a DMD (Disease Modifying Drug) called Rebif which seemed to help, but I came off it a few years ago and have not had a major relapse since, so I consider that I’m doing OK.

Ben

Hi Ben,

Thank you so much and it’s so nice to find people that I can relate to.

Ohh that sounds so tough!! I hope you’re staying strong. It’s such a horrible disease and everyone’s experience with it is so different.