Forum

Having a disagreement about dx

Can you be diagnosed with no lesions on your brain or spine, and just a posotive lumbar puncture ?

Thats the question , im having a debate with a woman who says you can as mri cant always pick up lesions , and a posotive lumbar is all you need .

Ive said this is not correct and she is wrong.

Thoughts please and there are plenty of experts on here lol .

Regards Iain .

From what I’ve read and I’m not an expert. There is no way in jiffin hell you will get close to a sniff of an ms diagnosis without lesions. Clear MRI, shock horror…might just be because there are no lesions, just a thought!!!

Nope. +LP regardless, it’s lesions plus neuro exam = MS.

That’s all the maths I can do.

LP helps as does VEP, but ultimately it’s lesions and relapses or lesions + LP + deterioration.

The neurologist uses all the tests and comes up with a diagnosis.

Sue

Ive said the same but according to her im talking tosh and thats being polite , as she should know as she has had a dx with posotive lumbar only .

Oh then her friend got involved and she should know as she too had been given a dx the same way .

I said as they were both from the good old USA maybe as they were paying for treatment that might explain it.

I have never ever heard off this and believe me ive spoken to plenty of people about it today .

Regards Iain .

I’m no expert but I had a quick look at the McDonald criteria, and all of them involve lesions. Anjo

I told her about the Mcdonalds criteria and believe it or not they dont believe in it as its old and not followed anymore .

I gave up and walked away , and thats why the Americans have to pay for medical help lol .

Ppms can be without lesions…

She says its rrms , and how do you not need lesions on either your brain or spine , to come to a dx of ppms , sorry im now curious to know .