Do I need a stick

Hi everyone I’m new to this and hoping for some advice. So I’ve Ms a yr this week although diagnosis didn’t happen to Jan this yr. I’ve still no Ms drugs due to getting what they suspected was ovarian cancer earlier this yr. Got the tumour removed and all clear now. I’ve been advised family planning needs to happen asap due to being an ovary short therefore still no drugs. My balance has got really bad lately and my eyes seem to loose focus. I’m 33 and obv a stick would not a normal accessory for someone my age but if it helps me from falling about the place it would be useful. Any help much appreciated xx

hello

a stick serves two purposes.

1. it keeps you steady.

2. it is a signal that you need to be given space to walk on the pavement.

it also means that you have started to accept your new life with your new body.

the first time i ventured out with my stick i was only going to the shop for bread but as i walked past the pub two burly brickies (who i know well) rushed out and hugged me.

i walked home smiling like a loon with tears pouring at the same time.

one of those happy sad memories.

you will be fine.

my stick is a folding one and can act like nunchucks which is handy when i feel furious with the world!

(i never use it in anger though)

1 Like

Getting about with a stick isn’t a sign that you’re losing anything. It’s an important aid to your stability.

There are unaccountable tripping hazards outside the home. It would be a pity if you fell over crossing the road (regardless of bricklayers lying in wait).

There are hundreds of attractive, feminine sticks these days. And, as Carole says, the folding type is very good, discreetly folding up when you’re not using it. Nunchucks, or karate sticks, won’t help at all.

Regards,

Anthony

2 Likes