Forum

Disease Modifying Treatment Advice

Hi,

I am a newbie to all this.

I was diagnosed with RRMS in March 2014. I experienced symptoms of paraesthesia in my right hand, arm, and leg in November 2013 that was treated with steroids in December 13, this improved in the ensuing months but I still do experience mild discomfort and numbness in my right hand. In November 2014 I developed optic neuritis in my left eye, this was also treated with steroids and cleared up in a matter of days.

My neurologist did the usual tests and everything is pretty normal - my EDSS score was 1.0, and all bloodwork is normal (save for a slightly low Vitamin D level).

My MRI scan still shows a small lesion load in the brain and upper spine and this, coupled with 2 ‘episodes’ in 12 months, has led her to recommend disease modifying treatments. She has recommended Copaxone, Beta Interferon, and Tecfidera. She has explained to me the pros and cons of all 3 and left me to make the decision.

My lifestyle (mainly workwise) is pretty hectic and so I am wary of daily injections and the daily discipline involved. I am not needle phobic so that is no issue, the main issue is finding the right time and place to administer the injections.

So Tecfidera, being an oral treatment, would seem to be the best for me but I am concerned with the potential side effects of the treatment. These include abdominal pain, nausea, constipation, diarrhoea, vomiting etc. and can last up to a month.

Has anyone been on Tecfidera and experienced these?

Is anyone still on Tecfidera?

Anyone have any other recommendations or advice?

Many Thanks,

R

Hi, I don’t have any experience of Copaxone or Tecfidera but I was on Beta Interferon for a number of years. I had good results with it & found the side effects easy to cope with, for me it was ‘flu’ like symptoms (paracetamol dealt with it) that lasted a few weeks, gradually fading as my body got used to the drug.