Forum

Diagnosis

This might sound like a stupid question, but if you have ms sypmtoms and no diagnosis and continue to have sypmtoms for many years.

And if you really have ms would it eventually show up on mri or can it be limbo life forever

Was not finished post and did not know what happen

But I was trying to ask if it ms a person has will it show up eventually.

Dee

Hallo,

I’m not a doctor, and can’t say with absolute certainty that it would ALWAYS show up eventually. As with everything, there are probably a few rare cases that defy medical explanation.

However, in general, the longer you’ve had MS, the more likely something would show. If you’ve had it very many years, but still not the faintest hint of anything on MRI, the odds are pointing to it being something else, and not MS. Basically, even though only a small proportion of MS damage is believed to be visible using current technology, if that damage had been going on for years and years, you’d expect to see something eventually.

Tina

Yes i agree with Tina, what the neurologists are looking for are positive test results which go towards an eventual diagnosis of ms. In my day it happened to be three tests proving positive with outward signs - weakness, numbness & central nervous system damage, in my case ON damaged my optic nerve and a weak right side with dropped foot.

If nothing keeps showing up then like Tina has suggested, I would think you may be suffering something else. Without evidence nothing can be diagnosed unless of course theyre looking at the wrong tests or trying to eliminate certain diseases first.

good luck for the future,

bren

x

Hi Bren and Tina,