Could shift work be making me worse??

Morning everyone, now I’m not moaning about my situation as I know I’m a lot better than many people with MS but I sem to be on a steady decline, even my colleagues say that “you seem to be getting worse” and thats almost month on month. I’m a police officer and as such work shifts, I was chatting to someone yesterday who suggested that if I were to come off shifts and and just work through the day it MAY help in slowing things down. Does anyone have an opinion before i suggest to work that’s want I need to to, I’d be interested to hear your comments. AB

Hi Alpha Bravo It is so not good for the body to keep shifting your body clock pattern. My husband does not have MS but has worked shifts since '99 as a journalist for the FT, then at weekends he goes back to a ‘normal’ day. This has really not helped his health at all. He hasn’t ever been as fit and well since before he started this but loves the job so carries on. I can imagine that with MS that this could easily lead to deterioration as when people sleep during the day they do not get the same rest they need from nightime darkness ( I don’t remember the scientific name for this, someone else probably will). Getting proper rest would surely improve things! Hth Teresa xx

Hi AB,

I worked for 26 years at Heathrow doing shifts but never in the last 20 years worked a night shift; they are a killer.

I presume you do not get shit pay so working permanent days would not affect your wages so I would suggest you go for it.

I’m sure your management will be very helpful. I’m not sure on this point but I know the military were exempt from the old Disabled Discrimination Act (DDA) that became The Equalities Act (EA). I have it in the back of my mind the Police were as well.

I only mention this as you are then relying on the common sense of your superiors and cannot ask for ‘reasonable adjustments’ to be made as written in the (EA).